FAQ

Return to Help home


Managing Rehearsal® Pro


Why do I have to register?
Professional actors work in a closed environment, where keeping sides and scripts safe is paramount. And that safety begins with being accurate with email addresses. Registration and activation of an account allows us to maintain that accuracy and privacy. The action of having you respond to an email addressed to what you entered in your registration screen assures that you tapped it in correctly, and that it was you who actually started the registration process.

Why do I have to authorize other email accounts to send?
We don’t want any spam to be able to get into your Rehearsal® Pro inbox, so we only allow authorized email addresses, email addresses that you confirm that you want to be able to send scripts to Rehearsal® Pro, to get through.

Are my scripts safe? I signed an NDA, you know.
Although no security efforts will ever be 100% impenetrable, we’ve employed, since the very beginnings of Rehearsal in 2009, many different and simultaneous methods of keeping your scripts safe. Bi-direction encryption in the app and on our servers, with the highest strength algorithms available, the authorization of you and any added senders, registration of all users and more.

We never see, and can’t see your scripts, so your NDA is not being violated (we actually worked with the studios on this). A great example is the highly-safeguarded MARVEL’s Agents of SHIELD scripts that one of our best known users, Clark Gregg (Director Coulson), pulls into Rehearsal® Pro every single day he’s shooting (and 144,000 other users with similar requirements do as well).

Truth be told, just sending out a script as an attachment is far more dangerous for the producer than you sending it to Rehearsal® Pro, because the recipient could simply forward it, by mistake or on purpose, to anyone via email. They could post it online in a fan forum. They could share plot points via social media. But that can’t happen with our closed, protected system.

Here, in a video interview in Variety, Christian Slater talks about his use of Rehearsal, and is asked by Homeland’s Miranda Otto about the safety of the scripts:

Hopefully, she’ll see this answer and know why we think we safeguard our users’ scripts very well.


Is there an Android or Macintosh version of Rehearsal® Pro?
No, there isn’t. It’s only available for iOS devices, like iPhones, iPads and the iPod Touch.

What does the red badge on the app's icon mean?
​That’s the number of scripts you have in your New Scripts category in Add New Script. As soon as you add a script to your My Scripts library, that number will update to reflect the scripts still waiting.

Getting Scripts into Rehearsal® Pro


I can't send my script via email. It's too big.
Usually, scripts should be a few megabytes at most, often less than 1 megabyte when pure text. But sometimes, scanned scripts can be so large they need to be sent via a cloud account. Check the help files for how to get scripts into Rehearsal® Pro from the cloud account you use.

Using Rehearsal® Pro

Working with scripts and scenes


Where is the scene I've recorded? I can't find it.
You’re probably in My Scripts, as opposed to where all your scripts are stored: My Scenes. Go to My Scenes from the main menu, and you’ll find them all.

I can't record. It just keeps beeping at me.
Make sure Rehearsal® Pro has permission to use your device’s microphone. Go to the Settings app >> Privacy >> Microphone and check.

I can't hear playback. I see the meters moving, but no sound.
Make sure your device is not muted, and make sure you don’t have the volume turned all the way down. Also, check to make sure you don’t have a Bluetooth device engaged, like an earphone.

How do I rename a scene?
1. Go to My Scenes.
2. Tap on the Edit button in the upper right hand corner.
3. Tap on the scene name.
4. Rename.
5. Tap Done.

Helpful Tools

Searching, bookmarks, finding pages, printing and more


Why can't I search my script?
Rehearsal® Pro gives you an alert when you try to search in a graphic-based PDF, like a scan. You can search text-based PDFs.

Even More Info

Advanced features of Rehearsal® Pro


Why did all my markup disappear after a sync?

This usually happens when you tap the SYNC button on a script that has been marked up on a different device. Remember, tapping the SYNC button replaces what’s on all other devices with the marked up version of your current device.

Still need help?

Click here to send us a message.


Return to Help home